Book Shelf

BOOKSHELF… (and more below the jackets)

Mike’s Bookshelf: What I’m Currently Reading

Pursuit of Honor
Dracula the Un-Dead

Mike’s favorite books »



Mike’s Bookshelf: What’s Up Next?

Mediapedia: Creative Tools and Techniques for Camera, Computer, and Beyond
The Lost Gate
First Meetings in Ender's Universe
Blind Man's Bluff: The Untold Story of American Submarine Espionage
Atlas Shrugged
Gadsby: A Lipogram Novel
The Art of Fielding
Pale Fire
When Genius Failed: The Rise and Fall of Long-Term Capital Management

Mike’s favorite books »



Mike’s bookshelf: Some of the Stuff I’ve Read

The Athena Project
How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe
Pirate Latitudes
The Lost Symbol
The Windup Girl
Catching Fire
Heaven - Season Five: War
The Hunger Games
Playing for Keeps
Heaven - Season Four: Wasteland
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
The Andromeda Strain/The Terminal Man
Heaven - Season Two: Hell
Heaven - Season Three: Earth
7th Son: Descent

Mike’s favorite books »



The Ender’s Game series (sometimes called Enderverse or the Ender series) is a series of science fiction books by Orson Scott Card. The series started with the novelette “Ender’s Game“, which was later expanded into the novel Ender’s Game. It currently consists of eleven novels and ten short stories. The first two novels in the series, Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead, each won both the Hugo[1][2] and Nebula[1][3]Awards, and were among the most influential science fiction novels of the 1980s.

Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)

Speaker for the Dead (Orson Scott Card)

Xenocide (Orson Scott Card)

Children of the Mind (Orson Scott Card)

Ender’s Shadow (Orson Scott Card)

Shadow of the Hegemon (Orson Scott Card)



Snow Crash (Neal Stephenson)

Snow Crash is Neal Stephenson‘s third novel, published in 1992. Like many of Stephenson’s other novels it covers historylinguisticsanthropologyarchaeologyreligioncomputer sciencepolitics,cryptographymemetics, and philosophy.  Snow Crash was nominated for both the British Science Fiction Award in 1993,[1] and the Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1994.[2

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe (Charles Yu)

From a 5 Under 35 winner, comes a razor-sharp, hilarious, and touching story of a son searching for his father . . . through quantum space-time.Every day in Minor Universe 31 people get into time machines and try to change the past. That’s where Charles Yu, time travel technician, steps in. He helps save people from themselves. Literally. When he’s not taking client calls, Yu visits his mother and searches for his father, who invented time travel and then vanished.

Pathfinder (Orson Scott Card)

A powerful secret. A dangerous path. Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg’s strange talent for seeing the paths of people’s pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from him–secrets about Rigg’s own past, his identity, and his destiny. And when Rigg discovers that he has the power not only to see the past, but also to change it, his future suddenly becomes anything but certain. Rigg’s birthright sets him on a path that leaves him caught between two factions, one that wants him crowned and one that wants him dead.


The Hunger Games is a young-adult science fiction novel written by Suzanne Collins. It is the first book of the Hunger Games trilogy.[2] It introduces sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives in a post-apocalyptic world in the country of Panem where North America once existed. This is where a powerful government working in a central city called the Capitol holds power. In the book, the Hunger Games are an annual televised event where the Capitol chooses one boy and one girl from each district to fight to the death. The Hunger Games exist to demonstrate not even children are beyond the reach of the Capitol’s jurisdiction.

The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins)


From the List of joint winners of the Hugo and Nebula awards

The Wind Up Girl (Paolo Bacigalupi)

The Windup Girl is a biopunk science fiction novel written by Paolo Bacigalupi and published in September 2009. It was named as the ninth best fiction book of 2009 by TIME magazine,[1] and as the best science fiction book of the year in the Reference and User Services Association’s 2010 Reading List.[2] This book is a 2009 Nebula Award and a 2010 Hugo Award winner (together with China Miévilles The City & the City), both for best novel.[3] This book also won the 2010 Compton Crook Award and the 2010 Locus Award for best first novel.

Nueromancer (William Gibson)

Neuromancer is a 1984 novel by William Gibson, a seminal work in the cyberpunk genre and the first winner of the science-fiction “triple crown” — the Nebula Award, the Philip K. Dick Award, and the Hugo Award.[1] 



Pursuit of Honor (Vince Flynn)

When Washington, D.C.’s National Counterterrorism Center is struck by a series of devastating explosions, the results are catastrophic—185 killed, including public officials and CIA employees. Such an act of extreme violence calls for extreme measures—and elite counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp, joining forces with trusted team member Mike Nash, finds himself in the frustrating position of having to illustrate the realities of national security to government officials up in arms over the agents who rushed in to save countless American lives. Meanwhile, with three al Qaeda terrorists still at large and Nash traumatized by the horrors he witnessed during the attack, Rapp must help his friend while threading his way through the naysayers on Capitol Hill—and silently, swiftly, do what he must for the sake of his country and the pursuit of honor.

Pirate Latitutes (Michael Crichton)

[placeholder]  spy novel involving remote viewing

Audio Books

The Athena Project (Brad Thor)

Brad Thor’s new thriller, The Athena Project, may at first glance seem so far-fetched — the U.S. government is training a cadre of smokin’ hot, kick-ass female Delta Force ops; yeah, right — that you might be tempted to dismiss it as just another Hollywood fantasy. Not only would you be way wrong, you’d also be missing out on one of the year’s great action-adventures.
The plot of the novel (don’t worry, I won’t give anything away) involves a Delta team of four hot chicks, an Italian terrorist financier, long-lost Nazi technology and even a cameo appearance by Thor’s regular hero, Scot Harvath, who’s the lucky guy who supervises the Fox Force Four in the field.

Paranoia (Joseph Finder)

Adam Cassidy is twenty-six and a low-level employee at a high-tech corporation who hates his job. When he manipulates the system to do something nice for a friend, he finds himself charged with a crime. Corporate Security gives him a choice: prison—or become a spy in the headquarters of their chief competitor, Trion Systems. 




Comments are closed.